William L. McLaughlin Award for Heroism

Intended to recognize exceptional heroism by members of the Fraternity. It is named for William L. McLaughlin, Ohio Wesleyan 1906, for his exceptional bravery in rescuing victims of an infamous Chicago theater fire in 1906 which resulted in his own death.

Instituted by the Arch Chapter in 2003.

Nomination Due: 45 days prior to Karnea. A nominating form is available through the Central Office.


William L. McLaughlin, Mu 1906
Archibald W. Butt, Beta Theta 1891
William J. Fraering, Beta Xi 1946
Timothy J. McCarthy, Beta Upsilon 1971
Marcus Luttrell, Epsilon Zeta 1998