Kappa Theta Chapter Installed at the University of Connecticut

Delta Tau Delta welcomed 37 founding fathers of Kappa Theta Chapter at the University of Connecticut in Storrs, Conn., on October 9, 2021. The chapter’s initiation included 17 returning alumni and on Nov. 11, Kappa Theta Chapter initiated 21 new members.

International Vice President Anthony Albanese (American University, 1996) and Eastern Division President Ross Theriault (University of Maine, 2008), joined Chapter Advisor Anthony Sansone (University of Iowa, 2016), Division Vice President Dylan Pyne (George Washington University, 2012) and Chapter Support Coordinator Justin Vatti (Moravian, 2020) for the installation. The chapter celebrated with an initiation banquet at Georgina’s Banquet Hall in Bolton, Conn.

Iota Psi Chapter from Northeastern University performed the model Ritual and welcomed the founding fathers to the Fraternity. “It was an incredible honor to be a part of something as historic as a new chapter installation,” said Daniel Schultz (Northeastern University, 2022), Iota Psi Chapter president. “I’m very grateful that Iota Psi was invited to participate and that our Ritual team was able to share in the experience. I enjoyed meeting the Kappa Theta Chapter’s founding fathers and I’m confident they’ll be a great representation of our values for years to come.”

The four expansion team members who began recruiting on campus in the fall of 2017 included Anthony Sansone along with Jacob Cantu (University of Oregon, 2017) Nick Yarbrough (Baker University, 2017) and Ben Grothe (University of Iowa, 2017). The chapter was installed just three days after the four-year anniversary of its colonization having persevered to continue its growth through the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It was moving to celebrate the men of Kappa Theta and all their hard work. While the chapter’s history has been marred by adversity, the men have continuously demonstrated incredible resilience throughout their four years as a Crescent Colony. Their fighting spirit has been inspiring to witness, and that spirit is why I am confident we will see excellence out of Storrs for generations to come,” said Theriault.

Kappa Theta Chapter is the fourth Delta Tau Delta Chapter installed in the Constitution State joining Iota Mu Chapter installed at Quinnipiac University in 2011 and Iota Tau Chapter at Sacred Heart University in 2013. Gamma Zeta Chapter, originally installed at Wesleyan University in 1902, has not been active since 1989.

Kappa Theta Chapter shared the following message on social media, “As a chapter, our goals continue to be promoting lives of excellence and promoting our values of truth, courage, faith and power among the University of Connecticut community. We strive to create the leaders of campus and strengthen the brotherhood among the members of our chapter. This journey has just started, and we’re looking forward to what we’ll achieve in the future.”

Founded in 1891, the University of Connecticut is a top-ranked research institution. The public land-grant research university in Storrs, Conn. includes a 4,400-acre primary campus in Storrs, approximately a 30-minute drive from Hartford. With more than 2,700 members and more than 40 chapters organized in four councils, the University of Connecticut boasts of a fraternity and sorority community of commitment that has been a University of Connecticut tradition for more than 130 years espousing the values of excellence, integrity and honor.