Hughes Award for Excellence in Ritual Performance

Intended to recognize superior Ritual performance and named for the Hughes family, which has had three of its members serve as international president. The first was Edwin Holt Hughes, Ohio Wesleyan 1889, was largely responsible for drafting the present Ritual used for more than 100 years.

Instituted at the Atlanta Karnea in 1994 but not presented until 2006.

Nomination Due: 45 days prior to Karnea. A nominating form is available through the Central Office.


2006 – Alpha, Beta Zeta, Zeta Sigma, Zeta Chi, Theta Lambda
2008 – Gamma
2010 – Iota Epsilon
2012 - Delta Delta
2014 – Delta Beta
2014 – Gamma Beta
2016 – Gamma Xi