Edwin L. Heminger Interfraternity Leadership Award

Awarded biennially at Karnea to a member of the Greek community who has provided leadership to the overall fraternal movement while demonstrating the same dedication, integrity and unselfish service as Edwin L. Heminger, former president of Delta Tau Delta and the fifth Delt to serve as president of the North-American Interfraternity Conference.

Nomination Due: 90 days prior to Karnea. Nominations may be made by an undergraduate chapter or by an alumnus in good standing. Nominations should be submitted in writing to the committee.

The award was instituted at the Kansas City Karnea in 1998.


1998 – Edwin L. Heminger, Delta Tau Delta
2000 – Ed King, Sigma Chi
2002 – No award
2004 – Ralph D. Daniel, Phi Kappa Psi
2006 – Nancy N. Leonard, Alpha Chi Omega
2008 – Jon Williamson, Lambda Chi Alpha/North-American Interfraternity Conference
2010 – David L. Westol, Theta Chi
2012 – Jay Langhammer, Delta Tau Delta
2014 – Nonnie Cameron Owens, Chi Omega 
2016 – Buddy Cote
2018 – Ned Kirklin, Kappa Sigma