2024 Hugh Shields and Court of Honor Awards

Delta Tau Delta Fraternity recognized its top chapters for the 59th year with the Hugh Shields Award during Emerge in January and February.

Hugh Shields Award for Chapter Excellence

Established in 1965, the Hugh Shields Award for Chapter Excellence is named for the late Hugh Shields (Indiana University, 1926), the first executive vice president of the Fraternity. The award recognizes overall excellence in a chapter and is presented to the top 10 chapters in the Fraternity. Chapters receive a gavel and a Hugh Shields flag.

The 2023 Hugh Shields recipients (Total number of years the chapter received the Hugh Shields Award, including this year in parentheses, followed by the number of years the chapter has been named to the Court of Honor):

  • Alpha – Allegheny College (19, 26)
  • Delta Chi – Oklahoma State University (16, 23)
  • Delta Gamma – University of South Dakota (16, 28)
  • Delta Xi – University of North Dakota (7, 15)
  • Epsilon Phi – Southeastern Louisiana University (23, 26)
  • Gamma Pi – Iowa State University (25, 36)
  • Theta Kappa – University of Nebraska-Kearney (5, 12)
  • Zeta – Case Western Reserve University (9, 12)
  • Zeta Mu – Robert Morris University (4, 5)
  • Zeta Zeta – Morehead State University (7, 10)

In addition to the Hugh Shields Awards, these chapters also received a Court of Honor Award for 2023.

Court of Honor Award

Also established in 1965, the Court of Honor Award is presented to the top 20 chapters in the Fraternity. For the 2022 reporting year, all chapters were asked to submit the Fraternity Awards/Accreditation Report (FAAR). Chapters were asked to provide documents that measure compliance with the Fraternity’s minimum operating standards, exceptional facets of their operations and Delta Tau Delta programming. Chapters were graded on excellence in chapter finance, recruitment, membership education, academics, alumni relations and community service. Chapters are honored with a gavel.

The 2023 Court of Honor (total number of years awarded, including this year in parentheses)

The Court of Honor includes all the Hugh Shields recipients and the chapters listed below:

  • Iota Xi – Florida Institute of Technology (5)
  • Epsilon Iota B – Kettering University (23)
  • Nu – Lafayette College (3)
  • Epsilon Upsilon – Marietta College (16)
  • Theta Tau – Moravian University (2)
  • Beta Delta – University of Georgia (7)
  • Delta Mu – University of Idaho (23)
  • Gamma Kappa – University of Missouri (18)
  • Gamma Rho – University of Oregon (7)
  • Zeta Chi – University of Southern Mississippi (23)


 View and download photos from your region's Emerge: